I have been camping solo in Iceand for the last six days! I have been moving up the west coast to find someone they call the Snaefellsnes wool woman. It has taken me longer than I thought to find her, but  am finally camped near her farm, next to a horse barn that has internet.

These five days have been the most intense camping I think I have ever done. It took me a while in Reykjavik to make sure I had all the right gear for the wind. I have been ‘wildcamping,’ which allows me total freedom choosing where to sleep, which I love.

I came expecting natural beauty, but what I have seen, and spent the night with, is unike anything I have ever seen before. It is a raw, prehistoric beauty that humbles me to the very core. I can’t try to relate to it, but rather feel like the respect I pay it is in my effort to take care of myself alone in it. Somehow that creates a kind of stubborn comradery between us.

It was a surprising relief when I arrived at the sheep and horse barns, since the presense of animals, on the edge of shockingy steep mountains, softens me again. Today I helped brush the horses and bring them to their respective fields, and learned that these are a few domestic horses out of hundreds of wild horses in the mountains I am camped on. I like knowing they are there.

I am tired from walking and feel extremely isolated, but also feel that some balance in me is deepy right.

I havn’t had to use my headlamp all week, and can set up my tent at two in the morning; It is the blue hour for twelve hours straight; Apparently I am near where Journey to the Center of the Earth begins. I love that

more to come! With shock and deep admiration,

Annie

image

me wrestling with my tent

image

People traveling by took this picture of me

image

One thought on “Volcanoes

  1. Just catching up on your blog now, as our whole family was in Sweden by way of Iceland–but just passing through via the airport. Your journey, your quest, your topics, your bravery are all extremely impressive and worthy! I am awed by your motivation and self-propulsion! Glad to get these blogposts, and wishing you all the best! Martha

    Like

Leave a comment